To celebrate the 2014 centennial of the American Institute of Graphic Arts, designers from across the United States were asked to make a social, political or cultural statement about one year in AIGA’s history. Participants include Milton Glaser, Seymour Chwast, Paula Scher, Woody Pirtle, Elaine Lustig Cohen, Primo Angeli, Carin Goldberg, Kit Hinrichs, Tom Geismar, George Tscherny, Michael Osborne, Sean Adams, Ellen Lupton, Michael Vanderbyl, Jennifer Morla, Eric Madsen, Ivan Chermayeff, Noreen Morioka, Chip Kidd, Michael Beirut, Charles Anderson, Dana Arnett, Rick Valicenti, Debbie Millman, Clement Mok, Louise Sandhaus, DJ Stout, Steff Geisbuhler, Clive Piercy, Augustín Garza, Terry Marks and local San Diegans Bennett Peji and Candice López with many others. The work is now being printed and was used at the 2014 AIGA Centennial Gala in New York City.

Click on this link to view the AIGA Centennial Historical Timeline and click on the arrows to travel through history from a designer’s perspective.